Savory Natto and Green Onion Crumpets

Bread is a comfort food for me. Especially deep fried bread. So when a day of fasting went bad with me getting nauseous from whirling, I was craving some nice deep fried bread to end the fast. I decided to use up the last bit of green onion I had in my fridge and then try out adding natto to the mix. I originally was thinking of chinese style green onion pancakes but as I made my yeast and oatmeal flour batter mix, I decided to not roll it up and simplify the whole process by frying dough mini “pancakes” aka Crumpets

I ate these with a fried egg and some home made pickles. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp active yeast
  • 1 cup of luke warm water + 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups of oatmeal flour
  • 1/2 cup of flax flour
  • 3 stalks of green onion – chopped
  • 2 packages of natto (around 125 gms)
  • all the sauce from the natto packages
  • 1/2-1 tsp salt (if the natto did not come with sauce then add in 1 tsp salt, if there was sauce then only 1/2 tsp)
  • optional 1 tsp soy sauce

Directions

Proof the yeast, water and sugar mixture by mixing all together and letting it sit for 10 minutes. Then add in all the flour, I used a blended mix of oatmeal flour and flax flour but you can use Any grain flour: wheat works fine. Mash that up with a spatula and let it rise for 30 min. Then add in the natto, green onion, sauce packets, salt and soy sauce and mix it up, let it sit for 30 minutes.

Use the spatula to split it in halves while you heat up a frying pan. For smaller crumpets that fry better, you want 16 pieces, so you would half the dough three times. To handle the dough without it sticking real bad, moisten your hands with water. I work with one quarter section at a time, gradually making more patties as I lay them on the skillet. Fry it till it is a nice medium brown on one side, then turn it over and let it brown on the other side.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

