Sugar-free Date based Moon Cakes!

Last night was the night of the Mid-Autumn Harvest Moon Festival! And since i am on a special no-sugar alkaline diet, i was unable to buy premade moon cake, BUT i Really wanted to eat one! So i decided to go home and make some :D

I used a date & seed base for the filling, and blended it together with my spiffy Magic Bullet Blender which was also able to turn oatmeal into Oat Flour for the skin. I just noticed that according to that website, it is very commonly used to grind coffee, WoW. I actually can not drink coffee because it hurts my stomach, And it is not part of the alkaline diet :P

With a combination of beautiful and healthy ingredients

moon cake ingredients

ground up by the awesome Magic Bullet Blender Blender

mooncake in the blenderr

then mixed with love and care

mooncake mixing ingredients!

Everything comes together to form a delicious fare.

mooncake final cooking phase

Filling :

  • 5 dates (photo shows 4 but i added a 5th one and didn’t take an additional photo)
  • 2 tbs pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tbs sunflower seeds
  • scant 1/4 tsp salt

Skin :

  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 tbs flax seeds
  • 1/2 tbs chia seeds
  • 1 tbs raisins
  • 1/2-1 tbs goji berries
  • 2-4 tbs hot water, just so that you get the right consistency in the oatmeal flour skin
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • tiny pinch of salt, less than 1/8 a tsp

Instructions :

  1. First you combine all the filling components and either dump it in some kind of food processor type tool or attempt to cut and combine it all by hand. Honestly, if you are able to blend this by hand please let me know and include a video for me to watch for my own amusement. So when everything is done blending you set it aside in a bowl.
  2. Dump all the skin components into the food processor type took (now i dare you to try blending this part by hand) and then when it is all blended, dump it into a bowl that can withstand hot water. Add the 1 tbs of coconut oil, then add the hot water, One tablespoon at a time, stirring [with a spatula] in between to check for when you have the right consistency. The consistency should be just like playdough. When the dough has formed nicely, divide it into 4 equal parts.
  3. Go back to the filling and use your hands to squish it all together into a nicely formed ball, then divide that ball into 4 equal pieces and roll those into balls.
  4. Flatten each section of dough and proceed to wrap each filling portion with it.
  5. Now you have the option of drawing on the Moon Cake and eating it raw or cooking ie heat treating the skin to harden it. Here are different methods you can try:
    • Lightly frying each side in a frying pan, you start by placing one ball in, lightly flattening it with a bamboo spatula, then using tongs to turn it over when the bottom has finished cooking. You can also use tongs to pick it up and lay it on it’s side [like i did] to cook the sides. Letting the heavy Moon Cake rest on the side of frying pan helps prevent it from falling when you are trying to cook the sides.
    • Bake it at 300 degrees Fahrenheit for 10 minutes. (I did not try this, this is my general guess from all my baking experience.
    • Broil it, 10 min on one side, then flip it over and let it broil for 5 minutes before turning off the heat. (This is different from what I did because I broiled mines for too long and the top layer of skin charred)

My finished Moon Cake doesn’t look very pretty but it Tastes Great! So i plan to make more and perfect my craft so that they can start to resemble traditional Moon Cakes more. I will start off with drawing on it so it has pretty designs and trying to make them bake or broil Perfectly.

final moon cake

I celebrated the Mid-Autumn Harvest Moon Festival Night with More Seaweed Salad.

seaweed-salad-diptich

I also planned to cut up some watermelon but I was too full for that. In fact, after eating too Moon Cakes, i could not finish all my salad! So I saved 3/4 of it for the next day (today lol). So today, before writing this post, I finished up my seaweed salad and added some quinoa noodles and tahini to it :) The combination of rice vinegar and soy sauce was too strong for me, SO i added tahini to make it edible and then it reminded me of this Taiwanese style dan dan noodles I used to love to eat. Except this wasn’t spicy … well it wasn’t until i added some shichimi togarashi to it.

seaweed salad and noodles

Leave a Reply

