1am Vegan Dumplings!

Who stays up till 1am making vegan dumplings (after working on my website? I DO!!! And tomorrow i will wrap some pork dumplings because i don’t have a no-meat dietary restriction But i like to make foods that friends who have dietary restrictions, can eat :)

Here they are all wrapped and ready to be frozen on that baking sheet before being transfered to a zip lock bag. I used up 3 bags of skins and now i need to restock to finish off the pork meat tomorrow (I am on a roll! 3 batches in one week, enough for friends and family :D ). I did not expect to use so many wrappers (44×3=134 dumplings!), considering that i only used one block of tofu. However, i did put lots of other ingredients in there: carrots, mushrooms, onion, green onion, sprouts, garlic, wakame, and organic sweet rice flour to help it solidify as it cooks.

dumplings!

And I have these ingredients cut up (not pictured in cup up form) and ready to be made into pork dumplings tomorrow. The onions have been caramelized with garlic, ginger, soy sauce and sugar! Creating a sweet barbecue flavor for kids to enjoy :)

for tomorrow

The timer on my oven says 12:45am, and I have stayed up way past that by now, cleaning up and working on web updates. I am on a roll! I also opened up a new bag if organic rice flour because i didn’t want to use the mystery white powder in that maple syrup jar. It tasted flavorless so it could have been either rice flour or corn starch, but i want to be Sure of what i’m feeding friends so i opened up a new bag and now have this photo and blog post to document just what i put in that ovaltine container. I usually label jars … Usually.

what is that mystery white powder?
what is that mystery white powder?

I used the handy vitamix blender to blend all the ingredients in the vegan dumpling :D it REALLY cuts down the work!

IN VITAMIX WE TRUST!!!
IN VITAMIX WE TRUST!!!

Ingredients for my vegan dumpling mix:

  • one 14oz. block of firm tofu
  • 4-5 (organic) carrots – i like to use organic carrots, and i usually buy “rainbow” carrots but i was at a different supermarket the day i went grocery shopping so no fun rainbow colors :/
  • either 1/4 of a large onion or half of a medium onion
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic
  • 2-3 sticks of green onion
  • half of a 12oz. bag of sprouts
  • 1-2 bags of enoki mushrooms
  • 1-2 tbs of kiriwakame
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp of soy sauce
  • 2-4 tbs of rice flour

I will cook them tomorrow and let you all know how they taste. I am sure they will be delicious though :D I tried this batter (vegan = safe to be eaten raw, unlike pork dumplings :P )

Earlier today i was sketching, used charcoal again for the first time in … maybe a year or more…

white on black

And here i’m watercolor sketching character ideas for a children’s book i want to create (even though watercolor is my “weakest medium”). Yeah i saw a webinar about making children’s books :) I mentioned in another blog that i’v been watching self-improvement webinars for 3 months straight! Ever since Blood Moon. I have learned a lot about both myself and the new advancements in neuroscience and psychology (and seen many successful life coaches act like PRO sales people … more like Pro Business People, hence why they are so successful :P ).

watercolor practice

2 thoughts on “1am Vegan Dumplings!

Leave a Reply

